About Us


IEEE Communication Society is a leading global community comprised of a diverse group of industry professionals with a common interest in advancing all communications technologies. To that end, the Society sponsors publications, conferences, educational programs, local activities, and technical committees that:

  • Foster original work in all aspects of communications science, engineering, and technology
  • Encourage the development of applications that use signals to transfer voice, data, image, and/or video information between locations
  • Promote the theory and use of systems involving all types of terminals, computers, and information processors; all pertinent systems and operations that facilitate transfer; all transmission media; switched and unswitched networks; and network layouts, protocols, architectures, and implementations
  • Strongly advance developments toward meeting new market demands in systems, products, and technologies such as personal communications services, multimedia communications systems, enterprise networks, and optical communications systems.

Members interact across international and technological borders to:

  • Produce publications
  • Organize conferences
  • Foster educational programs
  • Promote local activities
  • Work on technical committees


Formed on 15 October 2004, IEEE ComSoc Kerala chapter has always been quite active, in line with the ComSoc vision and to fulfill the ComSoc mission, under the leadership of the following past chairs:

Smt. Ananthalakshmi Ammal R, Senior Director at CDAC (2004 – 2006, 2015-2016)

Sri. Sasi P M, Senior Director at CDAC,  Vice Chair of Technical Activities – Asia Pacific at IEEE Communications society (2006 – 2009, 2011 – 2013))

Sri. Aju Thomas Abraham (2009 – 2011)

Prof. Manoj B. S, Professor & Head, Department of Avionics, IIST (2013 – 2015)

Sri. K B Senthil Kumar, Principal Engineer at CDAC (2016 – 2017)

Dr. LillyKutty Jacob, Professor at NIT, Calicut (2017- Present)